Tag Archives: Peru

UFWC Copa America Preview

The 2015 Copa America – the 44th edition of the South American international football competition – gets underway today. Chile are the hosts, and Uruguay are the reigning Copa holders. Argentina and Colombia, both highly placed in Fifa’s rankings, will be among the favourites to win the tournament. But few pundits will discount the current Unofficial Football World Champions – Brazil.

Argentina 3-1 Peru

Although this match was a 2014 World Cup qualifier, it was the Unofficial Football World Championships that provided most interest. Argentina had already qualified for the World Cup Finals in Brazil, while Peru had already been eliminated. So the UFWC title was the only thing that really mattered. In the end, a win for Argentina allowed them to retain their UFWC title and – thanks to Colombia’s draw with Chile – secure top spot in the WC qualifying table.

Argentina without Messi for Peru match

It’s the penultimate matchday in the 2014 World Cup Qualification tournament, and both Argentina and Peru already know where they will be next summer. Argentina will be in Brazil, having qualified for the Finals courtesy of last month’s win over Paraguay. Peru, meanwhile, will have to watch the Finals at home on TV, having failed to qualify, and with no chance of even reaching the play-offs.

Uruguay vs Peru 1953

While we await confirmation of the next UFWC title match, here’s a classic match from the archives, in which the first official football world champions finally became unofficial champions. Uruguay 3-0 Peru 28 March 1953 South American Championships Estadio Nacional, Lima Scorers: Pelaez (2), C Romero Although Uruguay were enjoying their second reign as official […]

UFWC spin-offs update: part 2

Following yesterday’s first part, Peter Waring continues his round-up of UFWC spin-off competitions, today covering women’s national teams: Women’s world championship. The United States were on a long run as champions before a sensational defeat to Mexico in November 2010. Canada then took up the reins, before the United States reclaimed the title in January. […]