Dec 14

The Netherlands: a UFWC history

Share post on:

Ahead of the Netherlands versus England title match on 12 August we’ll look at both nations’ histories in the UFWC. First up, it’s the Oranje.

The Netherlands have won 37 UFWC title matches, and had nine separate reigns as Unofficial Football World Champions over the years. They are ranked fifth in the all-time UFWC rankings and, of course, are the current UFWC champions. But amazingly the UFWC was more than 100 years old before the Dutch first won the title.

The Netherlands’ first UFWC clash was against Scotland in June 1929. They were beaten 2-0 in Amsterdam by the all-time UFWC champions. Nine years later, in May 1938, the Dutch were again beaten by two goals in Amsterdam by the Scots, this time 3-1. In fact, the tiny Netherlands Antilles islands won the UFWC title (in 1963 against Mexico) long before the country that owns them!

Finally, in May 1973, the Netherlands enjoyed UFWC success, taking the title from Spain in a 3-2 win in Amsterdam. Johan Cruyff scored a 90th-minute winner for the Dutch. That win began an amazing 15-game run as UFWC champions, leading all the way to the 1974 World Cup final, beating world champions Brazil 2-0 on the way. But hosts West Germany proved too strong in the final, winning the World Cup and depriving the Netherlands of the UFWC title.

The Dutch lost a UFWC match to Czechoslovakia in 1976, but then won the UFWC title from Italy at the World Cup in 1978. Again, however, the Dutch were beaten in the World Cup final by the hosts, this time losing 3-1 to Argentina. A 1979 “friendly rematch” saw Argentina win on penalties after a 0-0 draw.

In September 1985, the Dutch reclaimed the UFWC title, defeating Bulgaria 1-0 in Heerenveen. Rob de Wit scored the only goal of the game, a year before a cerebral hemorrhage tragically cut short his exciting career. Belgium took the title in October, only for the Dutch to reclaim it in November, with de Wit scoring the winner in a 2-1 victory. They held the title for three games before losing 3-1 to West Germany in April 1986.

The Dutch took the title from Wales in 1988 and held it for two matches, then took it from Greece in 1990 and held it for eight. Next up was World Cup revenge against Argentina in 1998, winning 2-1 in the quarter final with goals from Patrick Kluivert and Dennis Bergkamp. But, in the semi final, the Dutch lost on penalties to Brazil.

A European Championships loss on penalties to Italy was another missed opportunity to take the UFWC title. But in March 2002, the Dutch beat Spain 1-0 courtesy of a Frank de Boer goal and retained the title for 13 games before losing out to the Czech Republic in September 2003. And it would be five long years before the Dutch had another crack at the UFWC title.

Then, in November 2008, the Netherlands beat Sweden 3-1. They have subsequently seen off Tunisia, Scotland, Macedonia, Iceland and Norway. And next up are England.

By the time they take on England, the Dutch will have held the title for 266 consecutive days, and 1,966 days overall since the UFWC began. Can they extend their reign? Keep it here to find out.

Related offers

Bet £19, Get £66 In Free Bets

One of the fasting growing Bookies in the UK with a focus on innovation in online betting and casino.

Full T&Cs Apply. New customers only. The £19+ Qualifying Bet (min odds 1.80). Max 4 x £10, 4 x £5, 1x £6 Free Bets credited on qualifying bet settlement on selected events. 1x claim per customer. Void, cashed out, partially cashed out bets do not qualify. Each Way bets, system bets and profit boost are not permitted for qualifying bet. Free bets are non-withdrawable & not returned with winnings. Free bets expire after 7 days of qualifying bet settlement.

Bet £5 Get £20 In Free Bets!

Quite possibly the UK's Top Bookmaker, massive assortment of markets and great odds on Snooker and Cricket. Mind blowing Enhanced Odds Deals.

UK+IRE new customers only. Get £/€20 in Free Bets (4 x £5) when you sign-up and stake £/€5 on sports! Place cumulative qualifying stakes to a total of £/€5 win or £/€5 each-way at odds totalling 1/2 or greater. You’ll be credited with 4 x £/€5 Free Bets to use straight away! Once your Free Bets are credited, you’ll have seven days to use them.

Bet £5 Get £20 in Free Placepot Bets

Rated #1 for TotePool Betting by our Team

New customers online only. Place your first bet on racing pools for a minimum of £5 and win or lose you will receive £20 Placepot Tote Credit redeemable against UK & Irish Placepot bets only. Tote Credit cannot be withdrawn, exchanged, or substituted and expires after 7 days. Qualifying bet is the first racing pool bet added to the bet-slip. Ten to Follow, virtual and football bets do not qualify. UK & ROI customers only.

Bet £15 Get £10 Free Bet

Extensive coverage of Global leagues with over 20 Sports available for sports fans over the world 24/7.

New customers only. Wager £15 on a Sport to activate the Free Bet Token. Minimum deposit of £10. Get a free bet of £10. Customers who deposit using PayPal, Neteller, Paysafe, Skrill or Skrill 1-Tap will not be eligible. Free bet must be used within 14 days of being credited. The free bet token will be awarded once you have made your first deposit and have bet £15 on Sports with odds of Evens (2.00) or greater. The Free Bet Token can only be used on a bet with total odds of 4/5 (1.80) or higher. T&Cs apply

Up To £40 Money Back If Your Bet Loses+ £10 Casino Bonus

Reliable and solid Bookmaker with a great platform. Great rewards for existing customers and massive refer-a-friend incentives. Very quick withdrawals.

New customers only. Min deposit £10. Money back as bonus if first racing bet loses. Wagering: sportsbook 3x at min. odds of 1.40 (2/5), casino 50x. Sports bonus must be wagered before using the casino bonus. Bonus expires 7 days after opt-in. Full T&Cs apply.