Dec 14

England: a UFWC history

Share post on:

Ahead of the Netherlands versus England title match on 12 August we’ll look at both nations’ histories in the UFWC. We’ve covered the Netherlands. Now it’s England’s turn.

England have a long and fairly complicated UFWC history – but we’ll try to condense it into not much more than 500 words! The English played in the very first UFWC title match in 1872. Famously, it was a dull 0-0 draw. In the second title match, in 1873, England became the very first UFWC champions.

Both of those matches were against Scotland – the only side above England in the all-time UFWC rankings. England have won 74 title matches (Scotland have won 86), and have enjoyed 21 separate title reigns.

In the early years of the UFWC, the title (and international football as a whole) was confined to the British Isles, first between England and Scotland, and then involving Wales and Ireland. England and Scotland regularly swapped the title, and England gave Ireland two notable UFWC stuffings in 1895 and 1897 – 9-0 and 13-2 respectively.

In 1909, England played in the first UFWC title match to take place outside of the British Isles, defeating Hungary 4-2. England skipper Vivian Woodward scored two of the goals. Right half Evelyn Lintott, who also played in that match, was later killed in heroic circumstances at the Battle of the Somme. In 1914, the English suffered a rare UFWC loss to Ireland, and, partly because of the Great War, didn’t reclaim the title for six years.

Then, in 1927, England beat Belgium 9-1 and France 6-0. In 1930, the English were Unofficial Football World Champions but were not invited to the first official World Cup tournament. In 1932, England survived a tough encounter with Austria’s wunderteam, winning 4-3. Then, in a 1934 match remembered as “the Battle of Highbury”, England suffered cuts, bruises and broken bones during a brutal 3-2 win over Italy.

A 1939 defeat to Yugoslavia, on the eve of the Second World War, hurt a lot more. It was the first time England had lost a UFWC match to a team from outside of the British Isles. After the war, in 1947, England regained the title in a 4-2 defeat of Sweden. Then, in 1950, The English became the first UFWC title holders to play in a World Cup finals tournament. It didn’t go well. A star-studded England team were famously beaten 1-0 by the USA courtesy of Joe Gaetjens and “the shot heard around the world”.

It was 16 years before the English regained the title – but what a way to do it: July 1966, the World Cup final against West Germany, and England win 4-2 thanks to Geoff Hurst and an Azerbaijani linesman. It was England’s most famous victory. A year later came perhaps their most famous defeat – 3-2 to Scotland at Wembley in front of 30,000 travelling members of the Tartan Army.

Another long barren spell followed for England, until, in 1975, goals from Colin Bell and Malcolm MacDonald saw them beat West Germany 2-0. England held the title for six games, then returned to the UFWC wilderness. The famous 1998 World Cup defeat on penalties to Argentina and a 1999 2-0 defeat to France were only missed opportunities.

Then, in June 2000 at the European Championships, England beat Germany 1-0 courtesy of a goal from captain Alan Shearer. That was the last time England won the UFWC title. Can they win it again on 12 August?

Get your exclusive England UFWC T-shirt, and keep an eye on this website for all the build up to the big match.

Related offers

Get A £10 Free Bet When You Join Netbet

Great for Accumulators, utilise their Bet Maker for previously unavailable ACCA bet selections.

Customers will qualify for the free bet once their first £10 qualifying bets on sports have been placed and then settled on the account. Cashed out qualifying bets will not qualify for the offer. Customers must place a qualifying bet within 30 days of registration and for the bet to settle.

Bet £10 Get £10

Betdaq is great for point spreads, moneylines, and totals wagers. Betdaq are know for live betting on many of the big sporting events.

18+ only. Certain countries only. API/RDT customers excluded. Min £10 exchange bet at odds 2.0 or greater within 14 days of account registration. Free bet valid on exchange for 7 days. Stake not returned. Depositing directly via bank card. No cashout. New customers only. T&Cs Apply.

Bet £5 Get £20 in Free Placepot Bets

Rated #1 for TotePool Betting by our Team

New customers online only. Place your first bet on racing pools for a minimum of £5 and win or lose you will receive £20 Placepot Tote Credit redeemable against UK & Irish Placepot bets only. Tote Credit cannot be withdrawn, exchanged, or substituted and expires after 7 days. Qualifying bet is the first racing pool bet added to the bet-slip. Ten to Follow, virtual and football bets do not qualify. UK & ROI customers only.

50% Bonus On Sports Up To £60

Dafabet offers over 30,000 live betting events every month. It's the place for sports betting and casino games.

This promotion is exclusive for new players. This promotion is available for player located in Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Slovakia, or Sweden. There is a minimum deposit requirement of EUR15/USD10 in order for you to be eligible for the bonus. Only Sports bets will be counted for the wagering requirement. Draw, voided, cashed out and refunded bets will not count towards any wagering requirement calculation. Wagering Requirement: 15x (Deposit + Bonus) on odds 1.50 and above to be able to withdraw.

£20 FreeBet Backup Bet Offer

European Betting Goliath - 30,000 bets daily in an astounding 90+ sports.

New UK customers only. To claim, the first bet must be on sporting events other than horse racing, with a minimum of three selections. Each selection must be priced at odds of 2/1 (3.0) or above and the stakes range from a minimum of £10 up to a maximum of £20. Deposits made via Skrill, Entropay, PAYPAL and Neteller do not qualify for this offer. Must be used within 7 days of it being issued.